Travel guide and directory

English Français Deutsch Nederlands Italiano Español

Indonesia > General information > News, press and media

March 2017: Indonesia - Train service to Soekarno-Hatta International Airport (SHIA).

With several years of delay, the Indonesian public company PT Railink will put a railway line into operation between Jakarta's main airport (Soekarno-Hatta international airport) and downtown as from July. The train will stop at 5 stations: Manggarai, Sudirman Baru, Duri, Batu Ceper and the airport. Between the stations of Manggarai and airport, the journey will take 45 minutes while the current bus service may take more than 70 minutes depending on traffic. At the airport, a driverless skytrain will transport passengers from the station to the terminal free of charge.

In July 2017, Manggarai station won't be ready so that trains will leave from Sudirman Baru. There will be 40 departures per day. However, ultimately, a service will be provided every 15 minutes. The journey will cost about US $ 10. Soekarno-Hatta international airport is the busiest airport of the southern hemisphere.

Early March 2016:
Indonesia - Removal of the visa requirement for short tourist stays.

Indonesia abolished the visa requirement for nationals of 79 additional countries, bringing to 169 the amount of countries exempted from visa for a maximum stay of 30 days.

In 2015, 9.73 million foreign tourists travelled to Indonesia. The Indonesian Government has set a target of 20 million visitors per year in 2019.

July 9, 2015: Indonesia - 5 airports temporarily closed.

Since Mount Raung in East Java has been spewing ash into the air for several days, ash clouds caused closure of 5 airports in Indonesia, including the airports of Bali and Lombok, leaving many travelers stranded in Indonesia. Three days later, the airports were reopened. However, during the following days and weeks, Ngurah Rai International Airport in Bali was closed again temporarily on several times for the same reason.

June 2015: Indonesia - free visa. 

Indonesia has just granted visa-free entry to citizens of 45 countries including China, Japan, South Korea, the US, Canada, New Zealand, Mexico, the UK, Germany, France, the Netherlands, Italy, Spain, Switzerland, Belgium, Sweden, Austria, Denmark, Norway, Finland, Poland, Hungary, the Czech Republic, and South Africa. Visa-free arrivals are valid for 30 days with no extensions allowed. 

In order to enjoy free visa, a visitor must enter and leave Indonesia through the international airports in Jakarta, Bali, Medan, Surabaya, and Batam, or the seaports of Batam Center (Batam), Sekupang (Batam), Sri Bintan Pura (Tanjung Pinang), and Tanjung Uban.



the jakarta post
inside indonesia

Links in other languages


Same category in a different destination

Advertise with usAdd a link - Correcting a link - Disclaimer -  Contact us
Add to favourites -  Link to us - Travel directory

Copyright © 2021 WillGoTo. Tous droits réservés.

Indonesia : News, press and media, Indonesia News, Indonesia press, Indonesia Travel directory and travel guide